Artist’s Way: Week 4 Check-In

15 Apr

1.) How many days this week did you do your morning pages?

Is there any doubt? EVERY SINGLE DAY! Sir/Ma’am Yes Sir/Ma’am! Of course, for a couple of the days I may not have penned them when I first woke up, they were completed. I’m starting to relax in the morning pages, and have lost a great deal of anger. Though I’m not lazilly filling the page, I’m also looking within and above for answers. While last week I was able to quickly write away, this week it took much longer. This probably has something to do with me having to seek out emotions to draw upon and that I wrote most of them while in the car.

2.) Did you do your artist date this week? 

NO. I could look at some of the things I did this week and pass them off as an artist date, but I won’t lie. I did not complete my artist date this week. I should have and had planned to make my debut visit to the Albright-Knox Art Gallery. Part of the problem is I place perhaps so much importance on the artist date, that I feel I must trek to some place entirely new or undertake something epic. I need to be comfortable with biking to a local park and having a picnic under the canopy of chirping birds, or even the bicycling itself, permitting I traverse landscapes rich with nature or man-made creations. Perhaps it’s time to draw up an artist date menu, for I have seven opportunities left, and I desire to take advantage of all of them.

3.) Did you experience any synchronicity this week?

I’m experiencing thought block trying to look back. Though, there were definitely moments that pointed me in the right direction. I sought out to interview famed professional wrestler Tommy Dreamer for an article portraying the “wrestling Dad.” Not only was I able to score the interview, but I ended up adding an impromptu interview with the fascinating “The World’s Most Huggable Wrestler” Bryan Castle. Instead of merely plugging his profile into RingWriters.com, I feel his story has potential to be on display in a number of local Toledo, Ohio print or online publications.

Thankfully my supportive friend and lady Jaewon was able to point out that I hadn’t edited any picture books this week. I appreciate the reminders, as they push me to stay on the right path without getting too sidetracked.

One major aspect of synchronicity deals with an old high school acquaintance who is now a writer and actively pursues the creative life. He contacted me about getting together to work on some 2-minute shorts, something I look forward too.

I’m also strangely being led into a path of comics and graphic novels. There’s a major convention coming up in Toronto, Canada, and that same friend is working on a comic book. I also accidentally discovered some books on how to draw/create your own comics at the local library. Something is afoot. I’d be a fool not to listen to what God/the universe is planning for me. At least this gives me a “get out of guilt pass” when I neglect creative work to watch episodes of the Young Justice animated series.

4.) Were there any other issues this week that you consider significant for your recovery? 

Peace of mind. I generally feel more confident.

Also, I find myself standing up for my creative life on several occasions. I won’t put myself down by using the word “aspiring.” On the same hand, I don’t talk about creative pursuits with those who don’t warmly support it. I’m learning not to cry out for support, and rather look to myself and the universe for it. A plan will unfold, if it hasn’t already.

BONUS:

Overall, I wasn’t fully dedicated to the Artist’s Way this week, but I feel I improved as an artist. In regards to the Night Pages, I successfully completed all seven, but I did cheat one day as I penned it the next morning. I also slacked off on the tasks only completing 4 of the available 10. Although Julia Cameroon says we only need to aim for about half, I place higher standards on myself. Though, as part of my recovery, I’m not going to beat myself up or feel I have to make up for it. I will just be aware of the time in each day and in relation to the week to successfully complete the tasks in a meaningful way. I also can be blamed for having high expectations for Week 4. I was floored by the connection Cameroon’s words made in Week 3. Thus I quickly devoured the tasks. Week 4, didn’t exactly resonate with me. I was also reluctant to recite my “Artist’s Prayer” everyday. I need to keep pushing though and letting go of any hesitation and fear. I’m looking forward to Week 5, but almost fear that the end will come. A part of me wants this 12 week course to expand by an additional 40. I could always use the other books in her series, or create my own. (I’m in favor of the latter.)

Thanks for reading imaginators. All the best and more to you on your artist journeys.

2 Responses to “Artist’s Way: Week 4 Check-In”

  1. Julie Hedlund April 19, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    I don’t know why my earlier comment didn’t show, but I just wanted to say how impressed I am with your progress and dedication.

    • cravevsworld April 19, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      Thank you Julie! I owe a lot of that to you! Knowing that others are believing and supporting helps me realize this isn’t just a silly game.
      Wishing you all the best and more!

Leave a Reply

