Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

2 Mar

Happy Anniversary of Theodor Seuss Giesel’s Birth!

With more written about Dr. Seuss than his 60 plus books themselves, I’ll refrain from failing at penning an earth-shattering composition about the best selling children’s writer of all time. Instead, here’s a random assortment of tidbitz and linkadoodles.

In regards to branding and carrying a similar tone through one’s portfolio, I would have to say that Gary Larson is the comic strip industry’s Dr. Seuss.

Dr. Seuss’s Best Selling Children’s Books

BRAND: Dr. Seuss is best known for his made-up words, zany rhymes, and fantastical settings. But I believe his success is due to the Dr. Seuss brand. “Where the Wild Things Are” has always retained fame over its creator Maurice Sendak. Though Dr. Seuss as an icon and symbol hogs the spotlight even his most famous creations such as the Grinch, or the Cat in the Hat. Personally, as only a writer, I think it will be extremely difficult to build a “brand” for myself. Giesel luckily was also an illustrator and was able to stream a similar tone throughout all of his texts. Tomie DePaula has written/illustrated over 200 books, but does not shine in the market as a symbolic brand name. Even heralded Jane Yolen is more noted in the mainstream for individual pieces. Therefore, I encourage unpublished authors to consider their career with each submission. Perhaps this helps explain why I’m sitting on 60 plus manuscripts. I’d love to see “Where Should I Pee?” or “The Turd that Wouldn’t Flush” making conservative librarians giggle….but I need to establish myself before I’m type casted as a “gross” writer who employs cheap tricks to entice sales. In addition, my “What If?” series has the most marketable potential, but since each title is so reliant on illustration, I also need to wait until I’m embedded enough in the industry to be able to pull in and collaborate with an illustrator. Maybe I’m looking to far ahead, but I’m ready to write my history before it happens. So what do you think “Crave Cravak,” “Mr. Crave,” or “The Crave?”

Dr. Seuss’s first book, “And to Think That I saw It on Mulberry Street” was rejected 27 times before it was published. Keep sending until you can pass 27, so then when you become famous, people can reference how you were rejected ?? times to motivate aspiring writers.

All About Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss published his first children’s book at the age of 34. Since I turn 30 next week, I’ve got 4 years! I’m too scared to consider how it will take 2-3 years beyond acceptance for the book to be technically published. Oh boy, I better get sending!

Seussical

Awards are great…for the winners. Just remember if you come out on the losing end that Dr. Seuss has never won a Caldecott or Newbury Medal. Though three of his books were runners-up.

Dr. Seuss Landing at Universal Islands of Adventure was constructed with “no straight lines.”

Seuss Landing Video

It’s not a coincidence that March 2nd, Dr. Seuss’s birthday, is National Read Across America Day.

Seussy is listed in Urban Dictionary as an adjective that is characterized by or possessing qualities similar to the works ofDr.Seuss.

Leave a Reply

